Micronutrient deficiencies (MNDs) can lead to devastating health consequences including higher risks for anemia, blindness, cognitive impairments, poor birth outcomes, infections, and mortality. New data in a recent publication in Lancet Global Health, “Micronutrient deficiencies among preschool-aged children and women of reproductive age worldwide: a pooled analysis of individual-level data from population-representative surveys” indicates alarming levels of MND across all global contexts. There is an increasing need to ensure that everyone has access to a variety of micronutrient–dense foods. 

Join this special series of Coffee and Chai Chats hosted by the Micronutrient Forum. Hear from experts spotlighting new #HiddenHunger global data and get a deep-dive into selected key topics on micronutrient deficiencies worldwide in the light of these latest findings.

10 November 2022 | 9 -10 AM ET | 3-4 PM CET | 6:30-7:30 PM IST:  Join the Coffee and Chai Chat with co-author Dr. Ty Beal, Research Advisor, Knowledge Leadership, GAIN, hosted by Dr. Megan Bourassa, Program Lead, Micronutrient Data Innovation Alliance (DInA) on the Modeling Methods Used to Derive Estimates of MN Deficiencies and Data Gaps.

29 November 2022 | 9:30-10:30 AM EST  |3:30 -4:30 PM | 8:00 – 9:00 PM IST:  Join this chat with Dr. Purnima Menon, Senior Director, Food and Nutrition Policy, IFPRI hosted by Dr. Martin Mwangi, Program Lead, Healthy Mothers Healthy Babies Consortium (HMHB) on reflections on the  data estimates of 2 in 3 women suffering from micronutrient deficiencies and priorities for action. 

12 January 2023 | 7-8 AM PST | 10-11 AM EST | 4-5 PM CET | 8:30-9:30 PM IST: Join this chat with Dr. Ken Brown, Chair of the Report’s Advisory Panel, Micronutrient Forum hosted by Dr. Megan Bourassa, Program Lead, Micronutrient Data Innovation Alliance (DInA) on how to enhance data collection and identify the best sources of information. 

COMING SOON:

February 2023: Join this chat hosted by Dr. Cecilia Fabrizio, Program Lead, Standing Together for Nutrition (ST4N) on the global food crisis and its impact on wasting and malnutrition.

March 2023: Join this chat hosted by Dr. Megan Bourassa, Program Lead, Micronutrient Data Innovation Alliance (DInA) on national level actions to facilitate micronutrient data collection.

Registration Form


Our website uses cookies to ensure you have the best experience.
Please visit our Privacy Policy page for more information.